genevieve – print and pattern

print and pattern

baby blanket

2 Comments

I’ve wanted to knit this Pickles ‘Born Under A Star’ pattern ever since I bought Purls of Wisdom by Jenny Lord a couple of years ago and the arrival of my niece recently was the perfect opportunity. I was really chuffed with how it turned out and it’s the perfect size for a new born baby. Despite looking tricky, it’s easy once you get the hang of the stitch pattern but slow going due to the endless purl-threes (probably quicker if you don’t knit tightly like me) and it needs heavy blocking (soaking and stretching into shape) to bring out the pretty star pattern.

Purls of Wisdom is a book of genius. It is honestly the only book I’ve ever found where I’ve wanted to knit every pattern in it. It nails that chic modern look that seems so elusive sometimes in the world of knitting. Along with the opening of the brilliant Knit With Attitude shop near me (very sadly just closed), it ushered in the start of a surprising new obsession which has not showed signs of going anywhere fast.

You can check out more details on this pattern on my Ravelry page here.

2 thoughts on “baby blanket

  1. We haven’t closed, just moved! You can still find Knit with attitude in your area, in our lovely, new and shiny premises on the High Street.

  2. Thanks for letting me know Maya – I had already discovered the new shop. I’m so pleased it’s not gone far! Looking forward to joining you for a knit night one Thursday.

Leave a Reply

