genevieve – print and pattern

print and pattern

mazey day finds

Leave a comment

It’s taken me a while to get round to posting my little haul from Mazey Day in Penzance. Mazey Day or Golowan, to use the Cornish word, is a midsummer celebration where there are processions through the streets, stalls from local businesses, fairground rides and general merriment. My sister, expert on all things Penzance, guided me to a pop-up market in the courtyard of the Artist Residence Hotel, run by a local group called Heyday. It might have been small but it was high quality, and there I found a mini-gold mine of vintage homewares and nic-nacs on a stall belonging to the friendly people behind the Penzance Post blog.

It was this airport-chic framed print which drew me in at first:

And, continuing in the air travel theme, I picked up an original 1950s Pan Am badge with that unmistakeable design (destined to find a good home on one of my bags):

At the last minute, I couldn’t walk away without a few books massively (entirely?) judged by their covers: the gloriously patterned Selected Poems by D. H. Lawrence and Shakespeare Songs and, my favourite, an eccentric and opinionated travel guide to Denmark, with surely the coolest cover around. Whilst I haven’t opened the first two much yet, the Denmark book makes for hilarious reading.

You can find more pics of the market here.

Leave a Reply

