genevieve – print and pattern

print and pattern

liberty print napkins

7 Comments

I made these napkins as a wedding present for a friend, roughly following this Purl Bee tutorial.

Courses are great but this project made me realise nothing compares to actually just getting on and designing and sewing something on your own from start to finish. I thought it would be fairly straightforward but I learned a whole load of things I didn’t expect to learn, and gained a massive dose of confidence on the sewing machine along the way.

first napkin hot off the machine

I decided to make my own bias binding as I wanted total freedom to choose the fabrics. I say bias binding but for this project you don’t need to cut the fabric on the bias as it’s straight edges all round. My mum gave me some Liberty tana lawn fabric from her stash and I also bought some from the London shop. I don’t even want to admit how long I took to choose! Talk about fabric heaven.

I found the cream linen in another of my favourite fabric treasure troves, the Cloth House, where they had an impressive range in lovely natural colours and weights.

Discovery of the month: amazing little bias binding-making gadget. I got mine in John Lewis for about £12 and they come in a few sizes so you can make different widths. I chose the 18mm one, which gives approximately 9mm deep of edging. I had to make two strips and sew them together for each napkin, as the fabric wasn’t long enough to do it in one. I love the way a thin edging injects a tasteful dose of colour and pattern in a chic modern way.

From fabric to finished:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “liberty print napkins

  1. lovely napkins and a beautiful gift! i’ve been trying to come up with a handmade something for a wedding gift and i think a set of these would be perfect, particularly with the special liberty trim. thanks for the idea 🙂

  2. Thanks! Would love to see your version of the napkins if you make them.

  3. Love them! I never knew you were so talented Jen! x

  4. So simple and so pretty. Looks like you’ve been sewing for years!

  5. As the very, very happy recipient of this gift, I can confirm that they are completely wonderful (and will be treasured!) Great pics too – you are very talented xxx

  6. These are lovely! What a fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

