genevieve – print and pattern

print and pattern

sewing school finale: le weekend bag

7 Comments

weekend bag - genevieve blog

And now for my final trick…

Yep, as the main event and big finale to the excellent six-week sewing school I’ve been doing at Ray Stitch, we made a rather fetching weekend bag. Or large handbag, depending on how you see it. It was certainly the most complex project I’ve tried, and so the sense of achievement is jump-up-and-down high. I loved the cheers of glee and applause that erupted periodically in the room as each of us turned our bags the right way round to reveal the final thing. It took me and my lovely fellow bag-ladies three sessions to complete, and incorporated a zip, lining, piping, an inner pocket and various panels (just don’t mention the gusset…).

weekend bag - genevieve blog

weekend bag - genevieve blog

weekend bag - genevieve blog

weekend bag - genevieve blog

weekend bag - genevieve blog

We were advised to pick out a medium/heavyweight cotton which makes for a more sturdy bag, and I found this dark blue herringbone design in Ray Stitch, and chose a bright yellow lining, yellow zip and orange tape handles. Certainly a summery combo which is making me yearn for warmer days.

herringbone fabric - genevieve blog

orange tape for the handles - genevieve blog

weekend bag pattern - genevieve blog

Prior to the bag project, we had a whistle stop tour of all manner of seaming and finishing techniques such piping, bias binding, French seams, gathering and more besides. I never realised that gathering simply involves pulling the thread until it bunches up to the desired length, much like a drawstring. Much less complicated than I thought. And piping is definitely my new favourite thing – so satisfying and looks mega pro.

gathering - genevieve blog

practising gathering – pjyama-bottoms drawstring style

We also made a cute stuffed heart in time for Mother’s Day. I intended my mum’s to be a pin cushion but I think it’s ended up as a grab-able and chewable soft toy for my baby niece. Endless uses!

stuffed heart - genevieve blog

disclaimer: this pretty heart is not mine, my one was shipped down to my mum before I got a chance to take a picture…

I’m really tempted to sign up to the sewing school dress making course, which Moyna our teacher is taking, but sadly I think I’ll have to wait as I’m going to have a lot on in the next few months (moving house and getting married!) It will be first on my list of courses once I’m back in the groove though.

tape measures - genevieve blog

7 thoughts on “sewing school finale: le weekend bag

  1. Wow, this is so impressive! Please do the dressmaking class as soon as you can, as I can’t wait to see the results of that too.

  2. Wow I love this bag!! The colours are amazing!! 🙂

    Michelle

  3. These colours are amazing together, I love the bright orange tape. Sewing piping around corners is a killer, nice job! Did you have to interface the fabric or was it thick enough on its own?

    • Haha yeah I confess to sewing the bag to itself several times when sewing the piping on, especially round the corners. No interfacing, never used it before actually, although that might be a good idea if it makes it more rigid as the only downside to the bag is it’s a tad floppy (even though it’s thick cotton). Thanks for the idea. Love your blog by the way. One day I hope to move past napkins and totes to actual clothes…. one day…

      • Thank you! You should definitely start making clothes, if you can sew that bag a skirt will be easy! I started off sewing bags and just worked my way up from there…

Leave a Reply

