genevieve – print and pattern

print and pattern

pickles wedding shrug

4 Comments

wedding shrug - genevieve blog

morning of the wedding

I mentioned before about a top secret project I was planning. Well, here it is: a hand-knitted shrug for my wedding day!

I didn’t have many shots of the shrug itself from the day, so I was forced to put on my wedding dress again to take these… what a hardship!

pickles wedding shrug - genevieve blog

pickles wedding shrug - genevieve blog

back of wedding shrug - genevieve blog

And all the credit goes to my talented friend and knitting buddy, Ali, who made it for me, after I spotted the Pickles pattern on Ravelry.

I spent a few weeks agonising over which yarn to go for. It was tough to find a shade of white/cream/in-between that exactly matched the ivory dress but I was determined to find one.

wedding yarn - genevieve blog

decisions, decisions

I love the way things work out sometimes, because I found the most wedding-appropriate luxurious silk and merino yarn in my local knitting shop Knit With Attitude, which just happened to be a darn good colour match.

wedding yarn - genevieve blog

scrumptious dk/worsted - genevieve blog

scrumptious dk/worsted - genevieve blog

wedding yarn - genevieve blog

I was thrilled with how it came out. Having had most of the outfit planned for a while, I only saw and tried on the shrug for the first time a couple of days before the wedding, and it was wonderful to feel the super soft yarn in classy moss stitch and see it fit perfectly. It was like the icing on the, er, wedding cake. The moss stitch draped beautifully and was a great contrast to the satin on the upper half of my dress.

On the day itself, I put it on in the evening when it got a little chilly and it totally did the trick. It felt pretty special to wear such a beautiful hand-knitted item.

wedding shrug - genevieve blog

Ali has come up with the genius idea of dyeing it a different colour to give it a new lease of life. I’m still in the afterglow of the wedding and feel a bit protective of it right now, but it’s a great idea and one I may well try…. I’ll keep you posted.

wedding shrug - genevieve blog

ooo pretty shoes

I asked Ali if she’d like to write a mini-guest post on making it, and she wrote the following which was just lovely for me to read 🙂

Jen and I bonded long ago over a love of knitting, and soon learned we shared more than that in common. We would put the world to rights after work over a hot drink and a little knitting session, and did some great projects together. 

I couldn’t have been happier to watch Jen prepare for her marriage, and although I couldn’t be there in person to celebrate, it was only fitting to be there in spirit with this project.  

I tend to be a bit of a maverick knitter, using patterns as a guide (and occasionally messing up along the way!) but I wanted this to be perfect for the big day. After talking through the fit she was after and knitting up some swatches to get the tension and needle size right, I followed each stitch to the letter and was pleased with the result. Having a five month old at the time meant it took a little longer than expected, and the shrug came all the way across the Atlantic with me (knitting in the Florida sun was bliss!) but arrived in the UK just in time. 

Knitting has always been something special to me and to make this for Jen felt like the perfect way to share in her happiness. The years ahead of us will hold a lot of changes but I know we’ll always be able to sit down with a cuppa and our knitting, and pick up right where we left off.
+++++

(NB. Top and penultimate pics by Camera Hannah)

4 thoughts on “pickles wedding shrug

  1. What can I say, tears welling up, absolutely stunning!!!

  2. Heaven- I didn’t know about the shrug. It looks heavenly- and to have it handmade by Ali. Rather puts my offerings to shame! 😉

Leave a Reply

